It is Time. Thank You Emma Watson.

Hurrah for Emma Watson and her moving speech at the UN for gender equality as she helped launch the new campaign HeForShe !    I could not agree more when she stated:

” . . . I have realized that fighting for women’s rights has too often become synonymous with man-hating. If there is one thing I know for certain, it is that this has to stop.”

As I have stated many times, women have to stop abusing the rights they have been given. WE should understand more than anyone what it felt like to be on the short end of the stick when it came to rights, and yet everyday I come across women who are high fiving one another over how they managed to wrought the system and stick it to the men in their lives. In other words, they are abusing the very system that other women fought to make sure they had, to protect their rights and give them options.

I have always expected more from my sisters. I expected that given our chance, we would step forward to claim our place and show everyone how we could be equal, with love and caring for everyone. I never assumed it would be a selfish exercise that would step all over the rights and feelings of others without regard.

Just because family courts and social services are now tipped in favour of women does not mean any of us should abuse that. And it is not just the women who are in need of family court services. I see the arrogant abuse of the sisterhood among the lawyers and the social workers. Try listening to the women who work in maintenance enforcement, where men are treated as if there are no individual circumstances or exceptions, only men, all of whom are deadbeats and have zero rights. The ex-wife is always believed.

I firmly believe part of the push back against the final obstacles to women achieving equality can find its roots in the anger these women create.  Emasculation and humiliation is not part of any deserved justice.

Emma also stated: “Both men and women should feel free to be sensitive. Both men and women should feel free to be strong. It is time that we all perceive gender on a spectrum not as two opposing sets of ideals. If we stop defining each other by what we are not and start defining ourselves by what we are, we can all be freer and this is what HeForShe is about. It’s about freedom.”

I have sons as well as daughters. I have brothers and sisters. I have a husband and male friends. I still see the compassion and tenderness within the men in my life, regardless of how the rest of the world sees them. I see goodness and kindness and spirituality. I see softness. I see feminine.

It is not enough to push that our women be allowed to express their strength and courage. The rights have to exist for us all and not just swing from one side to the other and back again. It is time. Please join in the movement and redefine how we see and interact with one another.

2 thoughts on “It is Time. Thank You Emma Watson.

  1. I think the saddest truth is that a part of the reason we haven’t been able to achieve what we want is because women themselves negate the efforts made by other women.

    • Isn’t that the saddest truth? I read somewhere that it is women in leadership positions in business who make it the hardest on other women trying to succeed. AND, we all know dozens of stories, we have lived some of them, of women just being incredibly mean to one another. Perhaps it is because we feel that success/happiness/winning is so rare among us that we have to compete for it. It is hard for women to believe there is enough to go around for everybody.

Leave a Reply

